Opened in 1957, The Ole Smokehouse was a tradition for barbecue in South Charlotte. Located on Montford Dr, The Ole Smokehouse was at the top of the hill that was for years one of Charlotte's original "restaurant rows". Their meats were cooked in a unique Chinese oven and the style of barbecue was minced (more finely cut than the standard "chopped"). It was owned since 1985 by the Koutsoupias family---Bill Koutsoupias started working at the restaurant in 1970 and eventually bought out the original owners. A second location on Yorkmount Drive closed in 2002.
The Ole Smokehouse closed on June 5 of this year. It's closing signals the final switch from the original restaurant row of the 1950's to a new flock of chef-driven eateries that are now lining the street. It will be missed.